Bidding Summer Adieu

Welcome! Thank you for taking time from you busy day to take a look at my blog, which focuses on life as a distance BSW student, with already a busy family and work life. Please feel welcome to leave your comments and what the distance experience is like for you.
A few weeks ago, I was brushing sand off my bare toes after a swim at the river. It was so hot, we wondered if the temperatures would stop soaring and the smoke from summer fires would finally clear.
Now, and rather quickly, summer seems to have fled when my back was turned. A bubble-wrapped package bulging with distance social work texts and manuals arrived in the mail, and I have to admit, I opened it with less enthusiasm than last semester, which was also my first in the Distance BSW program.
Last semester, I began reading as soon as my course materials arrived, and eagerly plunged into studying from May to July. However, by July, I was quite (to borrow a science term) super-saturated with social work theory and ready for a month of school-free summer vacation. August dangled before me like a particularly juicy carrot at the end of a fairly short stick. I grabbed it with both assignment-free hands.
So, my last month has been a month of absolute leisure, or so it seems when faced with “only” family life without university study blended in. I’ve happily gorged myself on pleasure reading, after gleefully selling my used SW texts and manuals to a fellow classmate only one semester behind me in her distance studies, also at UVic. Then, rounding up my three children, we headed for the local lakes and beaches. Add to that riding my horse, going wilderness camping for two weeks, and working on now frivolous-feeling things like knitting and drawing. My school-free month was topped off by a five day horse show at the local fair, camping with my family and friends (long live the Armstrong Interior Provincial Exhibition!).
Along with the many varied ideas and theories I learned last semester, I learned how to fully enjoy my time away from school. So while I’m a little less enthusiastic to crack open my dauntingly-thick binders and log on to Usource, I’m preparing myself for serious studying again, but I’ll be sneaking the occasional peak at my summer vacation photos of family, horses, flowers, blue water and sunshine.
All wistful summer reflecdtions aside, the UVic distance BSW program is amazing. It allows mature students who cannot relocate to a major centre to finish a meaningful and useful degree without uprooting one’s home and family. I am truly happy and inspired to be enrolled in this outstanding program, and welcome comments from other distance students from across Canada. Kindest regards, Tammy  ~

~ Special thanks to UVic Faculty of Social Work Senior Instructor Cheryl Moir-van Iersel for inviting me to blog about my experience as a distance BSW student ~

Choelquoit Lake, West Chilcotin

Explorer roses bloom in August.

Fair days!

Leave a Reply

