Cup of the Day on Day One

You know you’re a social work student when…you critically reflect upon your mug as being a symbol of colonialism.

If I were a racehorse, I’d be called a slow-starter.

Last week, I dutifully clicked around on Moodle (the on-line course delivery system), posting introductions and generally scanning the course content, but today seems like my true “first day” of class. I feel inspired to really engage in dialogue and post responses to introductions. I also feel excited to dig into course content. I wondered why I felt so reluctant last week, then realized I was working on a Friday and was really already in weekend mode.

Today, however, is a new day. The start of a new week, and it really feels like, the start of a new term. 400 Health Care and 451 Indigenous Policy, here I come.

The photo included here shows my companion cup for the morning.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lindis
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 20:23:29

    Hello Tammy – thank you so much for your blog. I recently completed my diploma at Mount Royal University in Calgary and have just sent my application in for U of Vic. That was how I came upon your blog. How reassuring it is to read of your journey. Once again thank you for the inspiration and the confirmation that I have made a wonderful decision to tackle my degree at U of Vic.

    Reply

  2. nepperslanding
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 03:14:30

    Tammy,

    I heard about your blog in our recent student rep conference (Feb. 29/12), and just tonight decided to check it out (amazing how the brain works sometimes).

    Just wondering your thoughts on SOCW 400? I am considering doing a practicum in one of the hospitals here in Edmonton (to decide if hospital work is for me). Would you recommend 400? Have you done 435?

    Thanks for putting together this blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

